RSS

Spanish athletes are feline

06 Jan

IMG_0002 (2)

Mum’s poodle, Meg, Guernsey, circa late 80s. On her return from the poodle parlour. That’s the dog, not Mum. Yes… do you reckon the stylist was having a bad day or something because I never knew they gave short back and sides to dogs.

Yesterday I couldn’t make up my mind if I was feeling hot or cold. The heating was being turned on and off so many times it looked like I was attempting a Morse code message with my Calor gas flame. Ah, well, at least I’m not on the receiving end of any birds knocking at the window which is always a good sign although the other day there were a couple of chaffinches flitting about in the naked tree pecking away on something only visible to birdy beady eyes.

Tina, the cat, spied them and instantly began a one-way monologue.

Tina is a little strange which has nothing to do with the fact she’s from Spain. I’m sure of it. Like all good Spanish she’s a superb athlete and loves playing with her squeaky mice, catnip mice and my supply of Labellos. She lobs the flying toy back and forth with such skill you could be forgiven for thinking you are in the middle of a tennis match. Or she’ll jump with both arms raised to intercept the flying offender in a move that any goalie would be proud to emulate.

The weirdness comes into play when she attempts to scale my back like Edmund Hillary.

As I’m sitting upright at the time I can only surmise she’s stuck flypaper to the soles of her feet in her hope to scale the summit and plant a Spanish flag on the top of my head. Well, it would make a change from a tin of organic tomatoes flavoured with basil.

I think I’m a little weird so the cat is in good company so to speak.

She’s a rescue cat from Spain hence the flag of her country. I trawled through all available cat rescue shelters to find her as company for my ex-husband. So he wouldn’t miss something weird and catty muttering about the place when I’ve returned to the UK. And that’s weird in itself, I mean, who stays with their ex-spouse? Does any of this ring a bell with anyone out there or is it just me?

Talking of which… all right! Bear with, bear with! Let me get my little plug in. “Cat Tales” is continuing to do well on Nook. Three excellent reviews. Well, two and one with five stars but no comment. Probably lost for words. Thank you kind readers for your input whomever you are.

Well, back to it.

Happy New Year to one and all, and just a thought, say hello to that old person down the road who lives all alone. Maybe even offer to help with something or pop in for a cup of tea. One day, that could be you. Or me. Oh, nice! What an inspiring note on which to finish. Can’t do it. Think on. One is never truly alone when one is in the company of good music, good books, and a good dog (or cat)!

Best, best,
Rosie x

Additional blog:
http://enigmawolfblack.wordpress.com/

Working website:
http://www.rosemarybachholzer.co.uk

Cat Tales by Rosemary Bach-Holzer

 
5 Comments

Posted by on January 6, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “Spanish athletes are feline

  1. seaangel4444

    January 8, 2014 at 4:59 pm

    Great post and an equally terrific blog! I’m glad I am now a follower! Thank you and I hope you have a lovely day!! Cher 🙂

     
    • rbachholzer

      January 9, 2014 at 8:49 am

      Hello Cher! Thank you very much for your lovely comments and I’m delighted you are now a Follower. You brave, dear soul. Have to sign off for the mo as I’m up to my elbows in juicing cabbages, feeding the cat and doing the cat litter whilst attempting to rouse myself from slumber and not get it all muddled up. Yeuch! Good to see you. I’ll be popping by. TTFN, R.

       
      • seaangel4444

        January 9, 2014 at 1:43 pm

        *LOL* Brilliant, my dear! Just don’t mix up the cabbages and the cat with the litter and you’ll be just fine! *biggest grin* Yes, please pop by anytime to The Chicago Files and I’ll be doing the same to your delightful blog! Cheers, Cher 🙂

         
  2. rbachholzer

    January 9, 2014 at 3:14 pm

    Thank you, yes, I have indeed popped by, oops, nearly said pooped… must be the pigeons they’re still on my mind… and I thoroughly enjoyed my visit. Lovely jubbly. Cheers, dears. x

     
    • seaangel4444

      January 9, 2014 at 4:12 pm

      I shall be on the lookout for little treasures from our pigeon pooping pals! After all, I’m about to take the train and since it’s still a wee bit on the chilly side here in Chicago, they might just need a lift! Lazy bums, those birdies! Cheers to you! 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
